Ana Teresa Lehmann

State Secretary of Industry. Government of Portugal

Ana Lehmann is the Secretary of State for Industry of the Portuguese Government.
Before taking office in July 2017, she developed a strongly focused international career of two decades spanning academia, public policy and executive positions in over twenty public and private organizations.
Her areas of specialization relate to the competitiveness of firms and industries, notably companies’ internationalization, foreign direct investment attraction, innovation, industrial clusters and public policy.
She has been a consultant to leading international institutions (OECD, UNCTAD, European Commission, among others) and various national and regional governments in five continents. She held a variety of managerial responsibilities in several companies and foundations, as well as having founded several companies.
She has been CEO of InvestPorto, Vice-President of the Regional Government Authority of Portugal’s Northern Region, President of the Managing Authority of the Atlantic Area Transnational Program of the European Union, Pro-Rector for Strategic Planning/Enterprise Relations (U.Porto) and has been involved in setting up the Portuguese Investment Agency.
She is a Professor of Economics (FEP-University of Porto, Portugal) and has been Head of International Business (Porto Business School).
Visiting Professor or Visiting Fellow in several US/European universities (e.g. Universities of Strathclyde, Reading, Glasgow, Columbia, among others), and President and one of the 20 Fellows of the European International Business Academy.
She has a MSc and a PhD in Economics (University of Reading, UK) and a BSc in Management (U.Porto).
A regular speaker in top-level conferences, she has been an Editor of scientific journals and is an author widely published in her field. She is the author/editor of books such as Rethinking Investment Incentives: Trends and Policy Options (2016), Entrepreneurship in the Global Firm (2011) and Multinationals, Clusters and Innovation: Does Public Policy Matter? (2006).
She has won several awards for scientific merit and career recognition.