Welcome to nanoGateway

NanoGateway is a project aimed at implementing a multiregional strategy nanoRIS3 and action plan to unlock the potential of nanotechnology in the generation of smart growth, wealth and well-being

The nanoGateway project is co-funded under the Interreg V-A Spain-Portugal Cooperation Programme (POCTEP) and is led by the INL involving the POCTEP Regional Development Agencies


Get involved in the public discussion about the Smart Specialisation Strategy in Nanotechnology – nanoRIS3


Start date:
May 15


Jun 15

Help us shape the policies of the future!


Upcoming events

nanoGateway H2020 Awards

The nanoGateway project has just launched the nanoGateway H2020 Awards, an initiative that gives you access to Expert Consultancy Services, aiming to help you improve your proposal and increase the chances of winning your project!

Find out more »

nanoGateway Mobility Program

The nanoGateway Mobility Program will select 10 researchers and/or students to develop their project idea from 1 up to 8 weeks at INL facilities, under the supervision of INL Staff Researcher. Only 10 vacancies!

Find out more »

Mission 10.000 | Batteries

Save the date! International Conference Mission 10.000: Batteries will take place at INL, Braga (Portugal) from October 10th to 11th. Get your ticket here!

Find out more »


Nanotechnology as a scientific domain with the potential to promote the Interreg Spain-Portugal regions’ competitive strength in areas where infrastructure and human capital resources and capabilities already exist.

Reorient and promote RTD+i capacities towards the resolution of challenges faced by the dominant economic sectors of the cooperation area

Diversify the entrepreneurial network through the immersion of high tech sectors, hence improving the global competitiveness of the regions involved

Foster research excellence in nanotechnology and its knowledge transfer into the business community

What is POCTEP?

Approved by the European Commission (EC) in 2015, the INTERREG V-A ESPAÑA – PORTUGAL Programme (POCTEP) is a direct consequence of the beneficial results of cross-border collaboration between these countries that have been occurring since 1989, leading to improvements in the quality of life of the inhabitants of this Cooperation Area.
For further details, please visit Poctep’s webpage.


Spanish Provinces:
Ourense, Pontevedra, Zamora, Salamanca, Cáceres, Badajoz, Huelva, A Coruña, Lugo, Ávila, León, Valladolid, Cádiz, Córdoba and Sevilla.

Portuguese Regions:
Alto Minho, Cávado, Trás-os-Montes, Douro, Beiras e Serra de Estela, Beira Baixa, Alto Alentejo, Alentejo Central, Baixo Alentejo, Algarve, Ave, Alto Tâmega, Tâmega e Sousa, Área Metropolitana do Porto, Viseu Dão-Lafões, Região de Coimbra, Médio Tejo, Região de Aveiro, Região de Leiria, Oeste and Alentejo Litoral.